Prominent FSILG Alumni/ae

MIT’s Fraternities, Sororities, and Independent Living Groups (FSILGs) number many remarkable alumni and alumnae among their members. Some of the more notable ones are listed below. If you have a suggestion for another to add, please e-mail


Name & Class Affiliation Notable Achievement(s)
Larry Bacow '72 Zeta Beta Tau President of Harvard, President of Tufts, Chancellor of MIT 
Ken Cameron '78 Beta Theta Pi Three-time space shuttle commander and pilot.
Patrick Coady '60 Phi Sigma Kappa

Former Executive Director of the World Bank

Pat Confalone '67 Theta Delta Chi Chairman of the Board, American Chemical Society
T. Coleman duPont 1884 Sigma Chi President of duPont Chemical, US Senator
Richard Feynman '39 Phi Beta Delta (Pi Lambda Phi) Theoretical physicist awarded Nobel Prize in Physics in 1965 for in Quantum Electrodynamics
Jack Frailey '47 Lambda Chi Alpha MIT Crew Coach affiliated with MIT Crew for over 70 years
Andrea Ghez '87 Delta Psi/No. 6 Club Nobel Prize Laureate in Physics in 2020
Karen Gleason '82 WILG MIT Associate Provost, Professor & Entrepreneur
Paul Gray '54 Phi Sigma Kappa MIT's 14th President (1980-1990)
Crawford Greenwalt '22 Theta Chi MIT Corporation Life Member, President and Board Chairman of DuPont Chemical Company, principal of the Manhattan Project.
Charles Hayden 1890 Theta Xi Businessman and philanthropist, namesake of MIT's Hayden Library and Boston's Hayden Planetarium
Drew Houston '05 Phi Delta Theta Founder and CEO of DropBox Software; youngest MIT Commencement speaker in history
Robert Horvitz '68 Alpha Epsilon Pi Nobel Prize Laureate in Medicine in 2002
Janet Hsieh '01 Alpha Chi Omega TV Host (Fun Taiwan) at Discovery Travel and Living, Vision Creator
James Killian '26 Sigma Chi MIT's 10th President (1948-1959), first Presidential Science Advisor
Ray Kurzweil '68 Tau Epsilon Phi Prolific inventor, founder of Kurzweil Music Systems, futurist who first coined the idea of the "singularity"
Dave Latham '61 Delta Upsilon Discoverer of first exoplanet in our universe
Harold E Lobdell  1917 Phi Kappa Sigma VP of the MIT Alumni Association (1946-64), Dean of Students (1930-46), Editor & Publisher of the Technology Review
Laura Malley-Schmidt '86 Alpha Phi Author of the Panhellenic Association's algorithm for campus recruitment
Pat McGovern '59 Phi Gamma Delta MIT Corporation Life Member, founder and Chairman, International Data Group, Inc., and founder of the McGovern Institute for Brain Research at MIT
Neil Pappalardo '64 Lambda Chi Alpha Founder of Meditech, philanthropist, former member of MIT Corporation Executive Committee
John Reed '61 Lambda Chi Alpha CEO of Citibank and the Chairman of the New York Stock Exchange. Past chair of MIT Corporation
Adam Riess '92 Phi Delta Theta Nobel Prize Laureate in Physics in 2011
Michael Saylor '87 Theta Delta Chi Entrepreneur, executive, inventor, author, and philanthropist
James Shields '71 Delta Tau Delta Former CEO and President of DRAPER Laboratory, MIT chapter advisor for two decades
Alfred P. Sloan 1890 Delta Upsilon Former president and chairman of General Motors Corporation, Namesake of Sloan School of Management
Megan Smith '86 WILG 3rd United States Chief Technology Officer & Assistant to the President
Oliver Reed Smoot '62 Lambda Chi Alpha Former head of American National Standards Institute and of International Standards Organizatio, archetype for a famed unit of measure
Hank Spaulding '51 Theta Chi MIT Corporation Life Member and Principle of Spaulding & Slye Real Estate; Founder and first director of the MIT Center for Real Estate
John Sununu '61 Phi Sigma Kappa Former Governor of New Hampshire and White House Chief of Staff
John Thain '77 Delta Upsilon Former CEO of CITI Group and the New York Stock Exchange
Andrea Wong '88 Alpha Phi President, International Production at Sony Pictures Entertainment